Please note our box office phone number is currently unavailable Please email for all enquiries

Schubert - Die schöne Müllerin

15 October 2011, 9:00pm

Marcus Farnsworth is already well-known to Oxford Lieder audiences, who first heard him before he won both the Wigmore Hall International Song Competition, and the Song Prize at this year’s Kathleen Ferrier Awards. In the magical setting of New College Ante-Chapel, he and pianist Elizabeth Burgess perform Schubert’s first tragic song cycle, Die schöne Müllerin; the story of the young man whose amorous intentions go unnoticed by the miller's beautiful daughter.

The Schubert weekend features every song Schubert wrote from Die schöne Müllerin in 1823 to the end of his life in 1828 in nine recitals from 14th - 16th October.


Generously supported by

the Kathleen Ferrier Memorial Scholarship Fund.


Franz Schubert (1797 - 1828):

Die schöne Müllerin

1. Das Wandern
2. Wohin?
3. Halt!
4. Danksagung an den Bach
5. Am Feierabend
6. Der Neugierige
7. Ungeduld
8. Morgengruß
9. Des Müllers Blumen
10. Tränenregen
11. Mein!
12. Pause
13. Mit dem grünen Lautenbande
14. Der Jäger
15. Eifersucht und Stolz
16. Die liebe Farbe
17. Die böse Farbe
18. Trockne Blumen
19. Der Müller und der Bach
20. Des Baches Wiegenlied

2011 brochure

14 October 2011 | 9:00am

2011 Festival: 10 Year Anniversary

Next Event
Singing for All
16 October 2011, 9:30am - 12:00pm

Help us with a Donation

We rely on the generosity of our supporters to help us continue to bring song to Oxford. Please consider making a donation today.

Make a Donation

Select Tickets