Please note our box office phone number is currently unavailable Please email for all enquiries
Carolyn Sampson 4 photo Marco Borggreve

Album für die Frau

12 October 2024, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Generously supported by Stephen Page & Anthea Morland

Carolyn Sampson, one of today’s most sought-after sopranos, and pianist Joseph Middleton present a brilliantly conceived look at the lives of Robert and Clara Schumann, taking Robert’s cycle Frauenliebe und -leben and interspersing it with songs and solo piano pieces by Clara. These eight ‘scenes’ poignantly remind us of the highs and lows of this extraordinary couple and their complex relationship.

  • Clara Schumann (1819 - 1896)
  • Liebst du um Schönheit (1840) Op. 37 no.4 (Op.12 no.2) from Zwölf Gedichte aus „Liebesfrühling“
  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856)
  • Seit ich ihn gesehen (1840) Op. 42 no.1 11–12.vii.1840 from Frauenliebe und -leben
  • Volksliedchen (1840) Op. 51 no.2 iii.1840 from Lieder und Gesänge, ii
  • Clara Schumann (1819 - 1896)
  • Liebeszauber (1844) Op. 13 no.3 from Sechs Lieder
  • Richard Strauss (1864 - 1949)
  • Glückes genug (1898) Op. 37 no.1
  • *****

    ~~~ Interval ~~~

Help us with a Donation

We rely on the generosity of our supporters to help us continue to bring song to Oxford. Please consider making a donation today.

Make a Donation

Select Tickets